Next race in

Start Fitness Metropolitan Cross Country League

Latest News

2020 Season Update

2020 Season Update Very tough decision but we have cancelled the first 3 Start Fitness Met League Fixtures. Met League Fixtures 2020/21 Saturday 10th October WGEL – Claybury CANCELLED Saturday 7th November Herts P – Stanborough Lakes WGC CANCELLED Saturday 5th...

read more

AGM Report – 19th April 2020

METROPOLITAN LEAGUE AGM 19th April 2020 Due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the AGM was cancelled. Many thanks to everyone who helped out last season and to the five clubs who hosted. Last year we made a small change to the declaration system with only giving you one set of...

read more

Upcoming Races

Metropolitan Cross Country League 

Currently, the league is made up of 23 athletic and running clubs from Berkshire, Essex, Hertfordshire and Middlesex.

There are 5 Metropolitan League cross country fixtures held in various locations between October and February. Male & female athletes from aged 9 upwards compete at each fixture and there are 6 races which are categorised as, under 11 boys, under 11 girls, under 13 boys, under 13 girls, combined under 15 boys and under 17 men, combined under 15 girls and under 17 women, combined senior women and veteran women then finally, senior men and veteran men. The senior and veterans races also include divisions one, two and three.

Everyone that completes their respective race, no matter what position they finish, scores for their club. These points are calculated after each fixture. After the final fixture the league results are totalled up and the winners are crowned.

2020 – 2021 Season Update 

Very tough decision but we have cancelled the first 3 Start Fitness Metropolitan League fixtures.


Race 1 – Claybury – 10/10/2020 – CANCELLED
Race 2 – Welwyn – 7/11/2020 – CANCELLED
Race 3 – Alexandra Palace – 5/12/2020 – CANCELLED

The remain 2 fixtures are under review and we will make a decision on these as things progress 

Established in 1966

The Metropolitan Cross Country League was formed on 23 March 1966 at a meeting of interested clubs at the Primrose Public House in Bishopsgate, London. The eight clubs attending were Ealing Harriers (now Ealing, Southall & Middlesex AC), Essex Beagles (now Newham & Essex Beagles AC), Hampstead Harriers (now Barnet & District AC), Highgate Harriers, Ilford AC, Polytechnic Harriers (now Kingston & Polytechnic AC), Thames Valley Harriers and Woodford Green AC (now Woodford Green with Essex Ladies AC). Hillingdon AC were asked to join the League for the first season.